Immigration Road Logo
U.S. Time Zones and Daylight Saving Time

U.S. Time Zones

The United States covers nine time zones. From east to west they are Atlantic Standard Time (AST), Eastern Standard Time (EST), Central Standard Time (CST), Mountain Standard Time (MST), Pacific Standard Time (PST), Alaskan Standard Time (AKST), Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST), Samoa standard time and Chamorro Standard Time.

The four standard time zones for the Continental U.S. are:

Time Zone Major Cities
Eastern Standard Time (EST) --- 6PM Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Baltimore, Washington, D.C., Atlanta, Miami, Cleveland, Louisville, Columbus, Cincinnati, Detroit
Central Standard Time (CST) --- 5PM Memphis, New Orleans, Houston, Austin, San Antonio, Dallas, Chicago, St. Louis, Milwaukee, Minneapolis
Mountain Standard Time (MST) --- 4PM Denver, Albuquerque, Phoenix, Salt Lake City, El Paso, Boise, Rapid City, Tucson,
Pacific Standard Time (PST) --- 3PM Seattle, Portland, San Francisco, San Jose, Los Angeles, San Diego, Oakland, Las Vegas

This is a map of U.S. Time Zones:

US Time Zones Image

U.S. Daylight Saving Time

Most of U.S. observe daylight saving time which begins at 2 a.m. on the Second Sunday in March, and lasts until 2 a.m. on the First Sunday of November. An easier way to remember how to adjust your clock is: "Spring Forward, Fall Back" - In March, turn your clocks forward one hour. In November, turn clocks backward one hour.


DST Begins 2 a.m.
(Second Sunday in March)

DST Ends 2 a.m.
(First Sunday in November)


March 11

November 4


March 10

November 3


March 8

November 1


March 14

November 7


March 13

November 6


March 12

November 5


March 10

November 3


March 9

November 2

Easy Tools